Lauriers: the best chef in the province is in Quebec

Lauriers: the best chef in the province is in Québec

It’s Monday evening that the chefs, restaurateurs and craftsmen of good food met. e.s to celebrate Quebec gastronomy in style. If Montreal is often presented as the capital of gastronomy in Quebec, the National Capital was more than well represented among the 16 winners who left crowned with Laurels!

Chef of the Year: François-Emmanuel Nicol

After being a finalist last year, François-Emmanuel Nicol was awarded the prize for chef of the year. First sous-chef at the Légende restaurant (also nominated in several categories), he is now chef at La Tanière3 in Quebec City, a unique place that he himself described as “a completely stupid project in a vault in Quebec City” at the time of receiving his award presented by chef Colombe Saint-Pierre. He also wanted to highlight the work of his team of around thirty employees and in particular that of his partner in charge of service, Roxan Bourdelais.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Tanière3 (@taniere3)

Restaurant of the Year: Monarque

Already named three times among the 100 best restaurants in Canada and finalist of the Lauriers in 2019, then in two categories in 2022 (best restaurant and best chef), the French restaurant opened in 2018 in Old Montreal finally wins this year the restaurant prize of the year. The father-son duo Jérémie – the leader – and Richard Bastien was presented with the prize by Patrice Demers and Marie-Josée Beaudouin, co-presidents of the jury.

“At Monarque, 125 people work with us, so we will take these Laurels one sheet, but the rest we will share with the whole team,” said Jérémie Bastien.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Tastet (

Hommage à Soeur Angèle

The Laurier Hommage 2023 was presented by Ricardo to Soeur Angèle who received a standing ovationand even to a “mass”! The public had the chance to take communion by eating a small square of sugar cream made especially by the ITHQ. Visibly moved and amused, but still bursting with energy, she was delighted to see the Quebec gastronomy community reunited and said she was very grateful.

< strong>Laurel of the Public

Geneviève O'Gleman

Revelation of the Year< /h3>

Samy Benabed, Auberge Saint-Mathieu, Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc

Pastry Chef of the Year

Léa Godin Beauchemin, Place Carmin, Montreal

Boulanger de l of the year

Jeffrey Finkelstein, Hof Kelsten, Montreal

Sommelier of the year

Caroline Beaulieu, Legend, Quebec

Mixologist of the Year

Julien Vézina, Honō Izakaya, Quebec

Best Service Award

Perle Morency, Côté Est, Kamouraska

Beverage Producers of the Year

Simon Naud and Steve Beauséjour, La Bauge Vineyard

Producer of the Year

Stéphanie Wang, Le Rizen

Artisan of the Year

Jean-Simon Petit of the Ferme des Quatre temps

Business or initiative of the year

Mange ton Saint-Laurent

Culinary Culture Outreach Award

Samuel Sirois, Léandre Legault-Vigneau and Gilles Herzog

Event of the year

The Key to the Dunham Fields

Gastronomic-tourism award

Cassis Monna & Girls

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *