Ottawa reshuffle: Joyce Murray becomes President of the Treasury Board

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has filled a vacancy in cabinet with the appointment of BC MP Joyce Murray as the new President of the Treasury Board.

The decision to promote Ms. Murray was made after Ontario MP Jane Philpott left the government following the SNC-Lavalin controversy.

Ms. Murray, 64, was elected in 2008 and has already held a ministerial position in the provincial government of British Columbia. She was also part of the handful of MPs who ran for the leadership of the Liberal Party of Canada in 2012.

In January, Mr. Trudeau transferred Jody Wilson-Raybould to the Department of Veterans Affairs, with Justice Portfolio assigned to David Lametti. This reshuffle was made following the announcement of the departure of Minister Scott Brison.

The Prime Minister had subsequently had to make changes to his cabinet to fill the void left by Wilson-Raybould’s resignation.

A few days after this mini-reshuffle, Ms. Philpott resigned as President of the Treasury Board, claiming that she had lost confidence in the way Mr. Trudeau managed the SNC-Lavalin file.

Ms. Murray was first elected to Vancouver Quadra in 2008. Her appointment to the firm is a promotion since she was previously the Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board. This decision also allows Mr. Trudeau to maintain parity in Cabinet.

The Treasury Board is a less visible department that deals with the details of government activities, but has the potential to create scandals if it fails to manage federal spending.

Last month, Ms. Murray and her family went through a personal ordeal when her son had to be evacuated from Mexico for medical reasons after being seriously injured during her honeymoon in Cancun.

Murray’s son, Erik Brinkman, fell and had to undergo major surgery in Mexico to stabilize multiple fractures.

Ms. Murray has two sons and a daughter with her husband, Dirk Brinkman. They founded the Brinkman Group tree planting company in 1979.

Share Button